This past weekend, the Mississaugas of the Credit held elections for the 111th Chief and Council.  Incumbent’s Chief R. Stacey Laforme, Councillors Evan Sault, Cathie Jamieson, Erma Ferrell, Bill Laforme, and Veronica King-Jamieson all were successful in their bid for re-election.  Newcomers to the table are Councillors Julie Laforme and Craig King.

On Monday, December 16, 2019, the newly elected Chief and Council took their oath to serve their community at the Swearing In Ceremony at the MCFN Community Centre and was opened by MCFN Elder Garry Sault.  Following that, the newly elected Council were given an orientation of MCFN Departments and the services they provide.

MCFN Elder Garry Sault preparing to open the event.

Swearing in of MCFN Chief and Council

Chief R. Stacey Laforme

Councillor Evan Sault

Councillor Julie Laforme

Councillor Cathie Jamieson

Councillor Erma Ferrell

Councillor Craig King

Councillor William “Bill” LaForme

Councillor Veronica King-Jamieson


The Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation would like to thank Councillors Stephi Laforme and Larry Sault for their time and commitment to the people of the Mississaugas of the Credit and wish them the best in their future endeavours.