It’s time to recognize the role models, heroes and supporters of Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation (MCFN).

Nominations are now being sought for the second annual Eagle Awards and will be accepted until June 18, 2021.

“It’s about building pride and giving recognition where it’s due,” says MCFN Chief R. Stacey Laforme. “These awards strengthen our culture and our sense of heritage within our Nation.”

Nominations are sought for the following two awards:

  • The Trailblazer Award recognizes a member of MCFN who has served MCFN by increasing its profile or status with external communities, influencers and partners. In 2020, Justice Harry S. LaForme won the Trailblazer Award.
  • The Community Volunteer Award recognizes a member of MCFN who has shown outstanding generosity, resulting in service or support to MCFN through their time, actions, talents and dedication. In 2020, educator Karl King won the Community Volunteer Award.
  • A third award may be given at the direction of Chief and Council: the Friend of the Mississaugasof the Credit First Nation Award. This recognition honours a person who is not a member of MCFN, but whose career in any field has had a major impact or influence on advancing knowledge of MCFN history, language, culture, beliefs and traditions. Ontario’s Lieutenant Governor, Elizabeth Dowdeswell, was the recipient in 2020.

Eagle Award nomination forms are available online here:  Eagle Award Nomination Form
Locations to pick up hard copies will be posted once COVID-19 restrictions ease.
The Eagle Awards are an initiative of the Chief and Council of MCFN. A volunteer Recognition Committee reviews all nominations and makes recommendations to Chief and Council on the recipients.
For additional information committee members can be contacted at: